The US Open Sessions - Hear music made with tennis dataFind Tickets Online at ticketmaster

Djokovic, Federer earn top billing

No. 1 seed Novak Djokovic during the 2013 US Open men's final against No. 2 seed Rafael Nadal.
By McCarton Ackerman
Tuesday, August 19, 2014

The seeds have been announced for this year’s US Open men’s singles tournament, with Novak Djokovic taking the top seed and Roger Federer claiming the No. 2 seed.

Reigning Australian Open champion Stanislas Wawrinka will be the No. 3 seed in this year’s tournament, while David Ferrer will hold the No. 4 seed. 2012 US Open champion Andy Murray is seeded eighth.

Djokovic, who won the US Open men’s singles title in 2011, has appeared in the last four US Open singles finals. The 2014 Wimbledon champion has posted a 39-6 record so far in 2014 and will now look to become the first player since Federer (2004-09) to reach five consecutive US Open finals.

Federer moved up to the No. 2 position after defending US Open champion and current world No. 2 Rafael Nadal withdrew from the US Open on Monday with a right wrist injury. The Swiss has now been seeded at the US Open for 14 consecutive years, tying Ivan Lendl for the second longest streak in the Open era. Jimmy Connors holds the record, at 18 consecutive years.

Other notable seeds in this year’s men’s singles draw include No. 5 seed Milos Raonic, No. 12 seed Richard Gasquet, a semifinalist in last year’s US Open, and No. 13 seed John Isner.

In addition to Nadal, injury has claimed a few other potential seeds at this year’s US Open: 2009 US Open champion Juan Martin del Potro, former world No. 2 Tommy Haas, and Top 30 players Alexandr Dolgopolovand Nicolas Almagro.

The singles draws for the 2014 US Open will be revealed live during an official draw ceremony on Thursday, Aug. 21, at 12 p.m. ET at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center. The draw will be streamed live on 

The full list of seeds for this year's men's singles draw can be found below:

2014 US Open Men’s Singles Seeds

1. Novak Djokovic, Serbia
2. Roger Federer, Switzerland
3. Stanislas Wawrinka, Switzerland
4. David Ferrer, Spain
5. Milos Raonic, Canada
6. Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic
7. Grigor Dimitrov, Bulgaria
8. Andy Murray, Great Britain
9. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, France
10. Kei Nishikori, Japan
11. Ernests Gulbis, Latvia
12. Richard Gasquet, France
13. John Isner, United States
14. Marin Cilic, Croatia
15. Fabio Fognini, Italy
16. Tommy Robredo, Spain
17. Roberto Bautista Agut, Spain
18. Kevin Anderson, South Africa
19. Feliciano Lopez, Spain
20. Gael Monfils, France
21. Mikhail Youzhny, Russia
22. Philipp Kohlschreiber, Germany
23. Leonardo Mayer, Argentina
24. Julien Benneteau, France
25. Ivo Karlovic, Croatia
26. Gilles Simon, France
27. Santiago Giraldo, Colombia
28. Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Spain
29. Lukas Rosol, Czech Republic
30. Jeremy Chardy, France
31. Fernando Verdasco, Spain
32. Joao Sousa, Portugal