The US Open Sessions - Hear music made with tennis dataFind Tickets Online at ticketmaster

US Open announces field for College Invitational

Jamie Loeb is one of eight women competing in the inaugural American College Invitational at the US Open.
By McCarton Ackerman
Thursday, August 14, 2014

Some of the best college tennis players in the country will have the opportunity to further their pro careers by competing for a wild card into next year’s US Open.

Eight men and eight women have been selected to compete in the inaugural American Collegiate Invitational at the US Open, held Sept. 4-6 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y. Among the players competing are this year’s NCAA men’s and women’s singles champions, Marcos Giron (UCLA; Thousand Oaks, Calif.) and Danielle Collins (Virginia; St. Petersburg, Fla.), who also received wild cards into the main draw of this year’s US Open.

The men's and women's singles winners of the American Collegiate Invitational will be guaranteed a wild card into the qualifying draw of the 2015 US Open. Wild cards into the main draw will be awarded to the men’s winner if he's ranked No. 250 or better next summer and to the women’s champion if she's ranked No. 150 or better.

The players competing in the men’s field are: Greg Andrews (Notre Dame; Richland, Mich.); Mitchell Frank (Virginia; Annandale, Va.), Peter Kobelt (Ohio State; New Albany, Ohio); Mackenzie McDonald (UCLA; Piedmont, Calif.); Alex Sarkissian (Pepperdine; Glendale, Calif.); Ray Sarmiento (USC; Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.); Clay Thompson (UCLA; Venice Beach, Calif.); and Giron.

The players competing in the women’s field are: Kristie Ahn (Stanford; Upper Saddle River, N.J.); Jennifer Brady (UCLA; Boca Raton, Fla.); Hayley Carter (North Carolina; Hilton Head, S.C.); Alex Cercone (Florida; Seminole, Fla.); Julie Elbaba (Virginia; Oyster Bay, N.Y.); Olivia Janowicz (Florida; Palm Bay, Fla.); Jamie Loeb (North Carolina; Ossining, N.Y.); and Cillins.

Several of the American College Invitational competitors have also had previous experiencing competing at the US Open. Ahn played in the singles main draw in 2008 and the qualifying draw in 2009, while Loeb played in the qualifying draw last year. Frank will compete in the qualifying draw this year and previously did so in 2011. McDonald played in the qualifying draw last year.

Giron, Frank, Thompson, McDonald, Sarkissian and Kobelt earned their spots as members of the USTA Collegiate National Team. Collins, Loeb, Elbaba, Brady and Ahn are the women’s Collegiate National Team members in the field.