The US Open Sessions - Hear music made with tennis dataFind Tickets Online at ticketmaster

Trabert to be inducted into US Open Court of Champions

Tony Trabert will be inducted into the US Open Court of Champions prior to the men's singles final on Monday, Sept. 8.
By E.J. Crawford
Thursday, August 7, 2014

Tony Trabert was an indelible part of the US Open, first as a two-time men’s singles champion and later as a broadcaster. At this year’s event, Trabert will earn a permanent place of honor at his home-country Slam when he is inducted into the US Open Court of Champions.

Trabert will be honored during an on-court ceremony in Arthur Ashe Stadium prior to the men’s singles final on Monday, Sept. 8. He joins a host of past greats in the Court of Champions, including Jimmy Connors, Chris Evert, Billie Jean King, Rod Laver, Martina Navratilova, Pete Sampras, Bill Tilden and others.

A panel of international print and broadcast journalists selected Trabert from the roster of former U.S. Nationals and US Open champions, each of whom are nominated based on their performances at the tournament and their impact on the growth of the event.

“Tony Trabert’s contributions to tennis and to the US Open, both on and off the court, speak for themselves,” said Dave Haggerty, Chairman, CEO and President of the USTA. “Tony is a great champion and ambassador for our sport. He truly deserves to be honored among this illustrious group of champions.”

Trabert was one of the game’s greats in the 1950s, winning U.S. national titles in 1953 and 1955. In 1955, he won three of the four majors. Trabert won five Grand Slam singles titles in all, was ranked No. 1 in the world and led the U.S. to the Davis Cup championship in 1954.

After retiring in 1963, he served as the lead analyst for CBS Sports’ coverage of tennis and the US Open for more than three decades.

Trabert was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 1970.
US Open Court of Champions Inductees

2014: Tony Trabert
2013: Monica Seles
2012: Andre Agassi
2011: Pancho Gonzalez
2010: Margaret Osborne duPont, Ken Rosewall
2009: Arthur Ashe
2008: Pete Sampras, Molla Bjurstedt Mallory
2007: Althea Gibson
2006: Don Budge, Martina Navratilova
2005: Maureen Connolly, Ivan Lendl
2004: Margaret Court, Steffi Graf, Jack Kramer, John McEnroe
2003: Chris Evert, Jimmy Connors, Billie Jean King, Rod Laver, Bill Tilden, Hellen Wills